ruby on rails

A colleague at work, Chico Ary http://chicoary.wordpress.com/, came to me talking of a new language “Ruby”, and a web framework built on top of it, “Rails”. I must admit that at the time I did not give it much attention, just making a mental not to take a look on it.

What a shame. I’m sorry Ary! Rails speeds up web development on a way that makes it bleeding fast! To give you an example,  I was working on that time customizing an open source application built on PHP. It was a job that had already taken me 4 months, not counting the months the application itself took to be developed by the community. I took the hard decision to abandon PHP and rewrite the application from scratch after I met the power of Rails. And, believe me, 15 days later, 65% of the software was already ported on a much more scalable way. Now, 2 months later, the software is at production stage and I’m working on bugs and new features.

And, best of all, Ruby, the underlying language, leaves the code readable for anyone. Give it a try, get Rails here and Ruby here.

~ by Dante Regis on February 24, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
