netbeans and ruby on rails

Tor Norbye is doing a great job integrating a Ruby module on the development version of Netbeans. Since I’m still on the look for my definitive Ruby IDE, I decided to take a look at it, and all I can say is that I liked it very, very much. Never had any experience with Netbeans before (I don’t speak Java), but it’s a great software. The Ruby integration is, as far as I can tell, quite good, only a few bugs showed up on 3 days of work.

You can download it from the Netbeans CVS, the standard module. This post from Tor shows how to get and compile it. It took me long 36 hours to checkout the whole source. Don’t know if it was my Internet connection (yes, Telemar, it’s your fault, not mine, DSL provider from hell), or a busy server, but it was long, and I had to restart the process lot’s of times (around 7 times. But you don’t loose your job, it continues from where it stopped).

Give it a try! And, Tor, thank you very much for the great job!

Best!

~ by Dante Regis on February 26, 2007.

3 Responses to “netbeans and ruby on rails”

  1. Hi Dante,
    thanks for the trackback. You don’t need to build from source anymore – with Milestone 7 you can fetch the bits from the Daily update center (built in). Update early and often – there are fixes almost daily.

  2. I downloaded M7 IDE and no Ruby? Do we still need to get it from cvs?

    Scott

  3. False alarm sorry, Ruby’s there and its great.

    Scott

Leave a Reply

 
