Send GMail messages using VIM

OK, no flame wars, please, but fact is: I like VIM. So, I wanted one of these days, to send e-mails through it, since I read on Richard Stallman’s website that he uses e-macs to read and send e-mails. Well, can’t vim do that?

In fact it can. But I don’t use normal e-mail providers, so no POP3 or IMAP for me (you can use this plugin if you have a SMTP, IMAP/POP3 account).

For GMail, I came upon this wonderfull piece of code on DJCraven blog. It allows me to send the content of the current buffer as an e-mail to the person you specify on the GMSend vim command. The first line is treated as the Subject. So, you type your message, :GMSend someone@somewhere.com and voilá!

That’s what the e-mail was ment to be!

Powered by ScribeFire.

~ by Dante Regis on June 11, 2007.

One Response to “Send GMail messages using VIM”

  1. I don’t know if you still use this, but I’ve just come across it and I would like to use it – but I keep getting the error Incorrect User/Pass. I have installed and sourced the file (and added my own login details) but still get the error.

    Would yo know if this is because of a change in google, or am I just being thick?

Leave a Reply

 
