How to tell which Linux distro you are using?

If you ever managed more than a few Linux servers, you may have found yourself in a situation where you don’t know which distro a particular server is using. I used to cat /proc/version to get a rough idea. But a friend of mine from work just gave me this tip:


cat /etc/issue

Simple, easy and objective!

Hope this help you out!

~ by Dante Regis on August 21, 2007.

2 Responses to “How to tell which Linux distro you are using?”

  1. I tried it, and I get the following:
    Welcome to \s \r (\l)

    Which in a console becomes:
    Welcome to Linux 2.6.16.29 (tty2)

    I’d still like a way to find out which version of Slamd64 I am running on a computer I don’t normally use, such as 10.0, 12.0 or 12.1.

  2. Further attempt:
    less /etc/slackware-version

    Which 0n my mystery machine returns:

    Slackware 11.0 (x86-64)

    Not sure what other distros will return…

Leave a Reply

 
